[layerslider_vc id=”13″]

In 1965, when Earl Mountbatten retired as Chief of the Defence Staff, Queen Elizabeth II appointed him as Governor, Captain and Steward of the Isle of Wight in succession to the 7th Duke of Wellington. This preserved the close association of the Mountbatten family with this Island. In 1974 legislation to make changes in County administration led to the Isle of Wight, having been an independent administrative county since 1889, being granted full county status. Lord Mountbatten became its first Lord Lieutenant, combining it with his duties as Governor, Captain and Steward. He invited Sir John Nicholson to be his Vice Lord Lieutenant and delegated to him his duties as Custos Rotulorum. The Isle of Wight also then became eligible to have its own High Sheriff.” – edited by the 4th Lord Mottistone.

Geoff Underwood


Gioia Minghella-Giddens


Ben Rouse


Robin Courage MBE


Ron Holland


Claire Locke


Nick Hayward


I was particularly fortunate and privileged because my year coincided with the Queens Diamond Jubilee. Along with meeting the Queen my most memorable and moving event was attending a brilliant Jubilee tea party on the Pan Estate for The Way Forward, who promote the welfare and development of Islanders with learning difficulties and physical disabilities. Both the staff running the programme and all the attendees were an inspiration. 

1974-5 Lieutenant Colonel CRH Kindersley, DSO, MC, DL

1975-6 Rear Admiral JL Blackham, CB DL

1976-7 FRJ Britten Esq., CBE

1977-8 Air Commodore JM Birkin, CB, DSO, OBE, DFC, AFC, DL

1978-9 Major General Sir Robert Pigot Bt, CB, OBE, RM, DL

1979-80 EG Feben Esq.

1980-1 MStGS Clarke Esq.

1981-2 DF Peel Esq.

1982-3 WT Cooper Esq., JP, DL

1983-4 Major General OM Roome, CBE, DL

1984-5 Mrs DMC Roberts, JP

1985-6 V Gordon Walker Esq., DL

1986-7 AJ Sheldon Esq.

1987-8 HA Bowring Esq.

1988-9 RJ Westmore Esq.

1989-90 CDJ Bland Esq.

1990-1 HEC Noyes Esq.

1991-2 DF Campbell Esq., JP

1992-3 DEJ Guy Esq., MBE, JP, DL

1993-4 DBB Cheverton, Esq., OBE, DL

1994-5 MG Ball Esq., JP, DL

1995-6 JJW Attrill Esq

1996-7 Mrs JA Griffin, JP, DL

1997-8 RL Bradbeer Esq.

1998-9 DC Biles Esq., MBE

1999-2000 SHG Twining Esq., LVO, OBE, DL

2000-1 Dr CAN Mobbs

2001-2 Captain HNJ Wrigley

2002-3 Mrs APP Springman

2003-4 Mrs JK Hammer

2004-5 AH Goddard Esq.

2005-6 Lieutenant Colonel JH Fisher, MBE, DL

2006-7 PMGB Grimaldi Esq., FRCS, DL

2007-8 Lieutenant Colonel DE Langford, DL

2008-9 AF Titchmarch Esq., MBE, VMH, DL

2009-10 Mrs GAL Edwards

2010-11 PD Kingston Esq., DL FRICS

2011-12 Mrs S Sheldon DL

2012-13 N Hayward Esq.

2013-14 Mrs M Case

2014-15 Mrs CEB Locke DL

2015-16 RT Holland Esq.

2016-17 RV Courage Esq., MBE

2017-18 BMAS Rouse Esq.

2018-19 Gioia Maria Minghella-Giddens

2019-20 Geoff Underwood (In nomination)